cross-referenced news and research resources about

 Philip Kennicott

Philip Kennicott

is culture critic of the Washington Post, which he joined in August, 1999. He has served as classical music critic for the Detroit News and the St. Louis Post-Dispatch, where he also worked for two years as an editorial writer. In 2000, he was a Pulitzer Prize finalist for editorial writing, for a series that helped defeat passage of an NRA concealed handguns ballot initiative in Missouri. He also covered city politics and urban development. Kennicott graduated summa cum laude with a degree in philosophy from Yale in 1988. Prior to Yale, he spent two years at Deep Springs College, in California, and worked on a sheep ranch in New Zealand. Kennicott was born in upstate New York and moved to New York city after college where he worked as a freelance writer and editor. He served as senior editor of Musical America and editor of Chamber Music Magazine, which he redesigned and expanded from a quarterly to bimonthly publication. Kennicott is a reviewer and former columnist for Gramophone. logo
images:  google   yahoo YouTube

updated Sun. October 22, 2023

GREENWICH — The Greenwich Decorative Arts Society is bringing in a leader from the Crystal Bridges Museum of American Art to talk about the two newly revamped and more inclusive galleries at her museum. Sandy Edwards, who has been deputy director of the Arkansas museum since 2007, will ...

Philip Kennicott, art critic describes his work as “curiosity, compassion, the commitment to learn something new and share with the public.” For those who want to experience art, programs are available through Art in the Loft. Those that need to lower inhibitions might try “Cork Screws and Canvas.” Several ...


news and opinion



     philip kennicott

     a.m. rosenthal
     a h amin
     adam mynott
     alexa o'brien
     ali fadhil
     amy goodman
     andrea koppel
     andrew gumbel
     andrew meyer
     anne garrels
     barton gellman
     bill berkowitz
     bill moyers
     birol duru
     bob simon
     bob woodruff
     bob woodward
     brad will
     bradley graham
     burhan fasa'a
     carl bernstein
     carlo bonini
     dahr jamail
     dale gavlak
     dan rather
     dana priest
     daniel pearl
     david brock
     david ensor
     david martin
     david sanger
     david schuster
     ellen goodman
     eric lichtblau
     eric margolis
     esther kaplan
     farnaz fassihi
     frank rich
     gary webb
     george abbott
     gibran tueni
     glenn kessler
     greg palast
     gwynne dyer
     hala jaber
     hamza hendawi
     helen thomas
     howard kurtz
     igor rotar
     james bamford
     james risen
     jane mayer
     jason burke
     jill carroll
     jim lobe
     john nichols
     john pilger
     jonah goldberg
     jorgen berge
     jose couso
     joseph curl
     josh wolf
     judith miller
     karen deyoung
     karl penhaul
     ken krayeske
     kevin pina
     kim ives
     lara logan
     larry chin
     laura rozen
     lila rajiva
     lou dobbs
     mark danner
     mark fineman
     martin bashir
     mary mapes
     matt cooper
     mazen dana
     michael gordon
     michael ware
     molly ivins
     murray waas
     nat hentoff
     nick turse
     nina totenberg
     oriana fallaci
     paisley dodds
     paul eedle
     paul moran
     paul salopek
     peter bergen
     philip kennicott
     raf shakirov
     ramzy baroud
     rania al baz
     ray bonner
     raymond bonner
     richard cohen
     robert fisk
     robert novak
     robert parry
     robin romano
     ron suskind
     ross gelbspan
     roxana saberi
     roy greenslade
     roy gutman
     rym brahimi
     sander thoenes
     sara miles
     serena shim
     seymour hersh
     shi tao
     simon assaf
     stephen kinzer
     steve coll
     steven vincent
     taras protsyuk
     tareq ayyoub
     tayseer alouni
     ted koppel
     terry lloyd
     thomas ricks
     tim russert
     tom engelhardt
     viveca novak
     walter pincus
     wayne madsen
     william nessen
     wolf blitzer
     yasser salihee
     yosri fouda
     yuri bagrov