cross-referenced news and research resources about

 Abuja, Nigeria

Abuja is the capital city of Nigeria. It is located in the centre of Nigeria, within the Federal capital Territory (FCT). Abuja is a planned city, and was built mainly in the 1980s. It officially became Nigeria's capital on 12 December 1991, replacing Lagos, which is still the country's most populous city. At the 2006 census, the city of Abuja had a population of 776,298, making it one of the ten most populous cities in Nigeria. Abuja has witnessed a huge influx of people into the city which has led to the emergence of satellite towns such as Karu Urban Area, Suleja, Gwagwalada, Lugbe, Kuje and smaller settlements to which the planned city is sprawling towards. The unofficial metropolitan area of Abuja has a population of well over three million, which makes it the fourth largest urban area in Nigeria, only suppassed by Lagos, Kano and Ibadan. logo
images:  google   yahoo YouTube




Nigerian municipalities:

cross-references for

Abuja, Nigeria