cross-referenced news and research resources about

 6th Circuit

The United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit (in case citations, 6th Cir.) is a federal court with appellate jurisdiction over the district courts in the following districts:

Eastern District of Kentucky
Western District of Kentucky
Eastern District of Michigan
Western District of Michigan
Northern District of Ohio
Southern District of Ohio
Eastern District of Tennessee
Middle District of Tennessee
Western District of Tennessee

The court is composed of sixteen judges and is based at the Potter Stewart U.S. Courthouse in Cincinnati, Ohio. It is one of thirteen United States courts of appeals.

Elena Kagan is the circuit justice for the Sixth Circuit. William Howard Taft, the only person ever to serve as both President and Chief Justice of the United States, once served on the circuit. Four other judges of the Sixth Circuit have been elevated to serve on the Supreme Court.

Decisions issued by the Sixth Circuit were reversed by the United States Supreme Court 24 out of the 25 times they were reviewed in the five annual terms starting in October 2008 and ending in June 2013 — a higher frequency than any other federal appellate court during that time period.

seal of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit
images:  google   yahoo YouTube



       judicial branch
        appellate courts
          6th circuit

US Appellate Courts:
          10th circuit
          11th circuit
          1st circuit
          2nd circuit
          3rd circuit
          4th circuit
          5th circuit
          6th circuit
          7th circuit
          8th circuit
          9th circuit
          federal circuit
          washington dc