cross-referenced news and research resources about

 Regional Municipality of Peel, Ontario

The Regional Municipality of Peel (also known as Peel Region) is a regional municipality in Southern Ontario, Canada. It consists of three Municipalities to the west and northwest of Toronto: the cities of Brampton and Mississauga, and the town of Caledon. The entire region is part of the Greater Toronto Area and the inner ring of Golden Horseshoe. The regional seat is in Brampton.

With a population of 1,296,814 (2011 census), Peel Region is the second-largest municipality in Ontario after Toronto. Owing to immigration and its transportation infrastructure (with seven 400-series highways serving the region, and Toronto Pearson International Airport located completely within its boundaries), Peel Region is a rapidly growing area with a young population.

Mississauga occupies the southernmost portion of the region, and is, with 713,443 residents, the largest in population (the sixth largest in Canada). It reaches from Lake Ontario north to near Highway 407. In the centre is Brampton, a smaller city of 523,911 (ranked 9th by population in Canada). Finally, by far the largest in area and the most sparsely populated part of the region is Caledon, which is home to only 59,460 residents.

images:  google   yahoo YouTube

updated Fri. July 4, 2014

The Regional Municipality of Peel in Ontario, Canada has begun the provincially regulated Environmental Screening Process to develop a planned 300,000 tonne per year waste to energy facility.



schemata copyleft copyleft symbol © 2013